BJP Delhi | Bhartiya Janata Party in Delhi

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is a prominent political party in Delhi. The BJP tends to perform better in Lok Sabha elections compared to assembly elections in Delhi. The BJP traces its roots back to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), founded by Shyama Prasad Mukherjee in 1951. Since then, the party has had a remarkable journey, consistently gaining momentum with each passing election. From being known as a party with just 2 MPs, BJP Delhi has now become the largest party not just in India but in the world, with 303 MPs forming the current government under the leadership of Narendra Modi for the second consecutive term, achieving a full majority for the first time in 30 years in 2014.

Introduction to Key Leaders of the BJP Delhi:

BJP Delhi boasts a long list of talented leaders at the top leadership level, whose influence is evident in the Lok Sabha elections. However, unexpected setbacks in the assembly elections are a matter of concern. Nevertheless, the party is committed and determined to bring favourable results in the upcoming assembly elections.

The organisation of the BJP (Bhartiya Janata Party) within Delhi is quite strong, with over 50% of the of the popular support ready to enter the electoral arena. From top-level leaders to booth-level workers, everyone is preparing for the elections with full enthusiasm and capability.

Key Leaders of BJP Delhi:

  • State President: Vijender Gupta
  • State Vice Presidents: Dinesh Pratap Singh (Shahdara), Shri. Gajendra Yadav (Mehrauli), Shri. Vishnu Mittal (New Delhi), Smt. Lata Gupta (Shahdara), Smt. Yogita Singh (South Delhi), Smt. Sunita Kangra (West Delhi), and Shri. Vinay Rawat (Outer Delhi).
  • State General Secretaries: Harsh Malhotra (Naveen Shahdara), Shri. Yogendra Chandoliya (Karol Bagh), and Smt. Kamaljeet Sahrawat (Najafgarh).
  • State Ministers: Harish Khurana (Karol Bagh), Sardar Imprit Singh Bakshi (Mayur Vihar), Sushri Bansuri Swaraj (New Delhi), Shri. Vinod Bachheti (Mayur Vihar), Shri. Kishan Varma (Naveen Shahdara), Smt. Sarika Jain (Shahdara), Smt. Sona Kumari (Karol Bagh), Shri. Naresh Airan (Outer Delhi)
  • State Treasurer: Satish Garg
  • Youth Wing: Shashi Yadav (President), Shri. Gaurav Parashar (Secretary), Smt. Nighat Abbas (Secretary), Shri. Sumit Tyagi (Secretary).
  • Women’s Wing: Richa Pandey Mishra (President), Smt. Priyal Bharadwaj (Secretary), Smt. Sarita Tomar (Secretary), Sushri Vaishali Poddar (Secretary)
  • OBC Wing: Sunil Yadav (President)

Keeping in mind the Lok Sabha elections of 2024 and the upcoming assembly elections, some significant changes have been made within the Bharatiya Janata Party Delhi unit. Under this, new faces may be seen in some positions. Especially with regards to the Lok Sabha elections, all seven seats in Delhi are crucial; they are currently under the control of the BJP, and efforts will continue to ensure victory for BJP candidates in all seven seats.

BJP’s Journey in Delhi Assembly Elections:

The BJP has established itself as a major political force in Delhi. In the last two Lok Sabha elections, the BJP has won all seats in Delhi. However, unexpected setbacks have been faced in the assembly elections. The BJP state unit in Delhi is strong, and it has garnered public support as well.

Since the dissolution of the Delhi Legislative Assembly, when elections were held for the first time in 1993, the party has tasted victory. However, the party has not been able to achieve power in the state since then. Madan Lal Khurana became the Chief Minister of Delhi at that time. In that election, the BJP won 49 out of 70 seats.

In Delhi Assembly elections so far, the BJP has succeeded once, Congress four times, and the Aam Aadmi Party twice. But for the 2025 Assembly elections, the party has put in all its efforts. And this time, the party will leave no stone unturned in the elections. The people of Delhi are now dissatisfied with the corruption scandals that are coming to light one after the other. Ministers of the Kejriwal government, including the Chief Minister himself, are facing charges of corruption. They have misused the funds of taxpayers. They will have to pay the price for this in the upcoming Assembly elections.

The BJP has initiated many projects within Delhi that are to be completed with the cooperation of the state and central governments. However, every time, it is observed that the work gets stuck due to the state government’s failure to release funds, and the projects cannot be completed on time.

Creating obstacles to the completion of central government schemes has become the main task of the state government. Even schemes like Ayushman Bharat have not been implemented by Chief Minister Kejriwal in Delhi. While the truth of his mohalla clinics is known throughout the country, But the focus of the Chief Minister of Delhi is only on not implementing any scheme of the central government in Delhi.

Therefore, the people of Delhi have decided this time to bring the BJP back to power as a better alternative. And the people will remove arrogant Kejriwal from power in the upcoming Assembly elections. So that, along with the state, whatever beneficial schemes of the central government can reach the people of the state smoothly.